Skip to content
NORTHEA
Language: EN
Arrange a Private Consultation
Menu

About North Cyprus · Border crossings

Crossing between North and South Cyprus: checkpoints, documents and practical advice (2026)

As of 31 October 2026, the sources we checked say the Green Line is a ceasefire line and not an external EU border and that who may cross depends on nationality, status, documents and route of arrival. A TRNC residence document is not a Republic of Cyprus one.

Checked 31 October 2026 against the sources named in the text and listed below.

What the Green Line is. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

What the Green Line is

The European Commission describes the Green Line as the ceasefire line that has separated the two parts of the island since 1974 and states: "The line is not an external border of the EU." Canada's travel advice says Cyprus has been divided de facto since 1974. The Republic of Cyprus Customs page says the term "Green Line" refers to the ceasefire line that divides the island and was first drawn in 1964.

The TRNC structure and the crossings as listed from the TRNC side are covered on government, districts and crossings. The Turkish names used for crossings here are explained, with the people and the language, on Turkish Cypriots: people, history and language; this page does not repeat the phrasebook.

  • Source

    European Commission: Green Line Regulation

    Page dated 8 June 2026 (first published 12 April 2022). Source of the "not an external border" statement and of the Protocol 10 suspension.

    Source: commission.europa.eu

1 / 1

Step by step: questions to settle before you cross. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Step by step: questions to settle before you cross

This is a list of questions, not instructions for any person. Each one points to what the sources say; none of them decides whether you may cross.

1. Which travel document will you carry? The FCDO sets passport expiry at least 3 months after the day a British traveller plans to leave Cyprus; for other nationalities look up your own government's advice. The sources do not name one document that suits everyone.

2. What visa or status applies? Regulation 866/2004 sets conditions for third-country nationals; the FCDO gives a 90-day visa-free period for British citizens and says time in the north counts towards it. See the scenarios section.

3. Which crossing point? The FCDO says any crossing point can be used to move between north and south, except that only pedestrians can use Ledra Palace and Ledra/Lokmaci Street. The directory below gives names as sources print them.

4. Is it open and suitable for you? This page states no opening hours, because we did not verify any from a current official source. Confirm hours and whether the point takes vehicles or only pedestrians before you set out.

5. Do you carry the originals? The FCDO advises UK residents of Cyprus to carry residency documents issued by the Republic of Cyprus when entering and exiting. Regulation 866/2004 says all persons undergo at least one identity check by the Republic of Cyprus.

6. Have you allowed for checks on both sides? The TRNC Public Information Office reported in 2015 that, under a new practice at TRNC land crossings, visa slips and stamps are no longer used and the person shows an ID document and is registered. That is a 2015 report of the TRNC side only.

7. What are you carrying? Check the customs section. The Republic of Cyprus enforces limits on goods taken from the north.

  • Document

    Passport validity

    FCDO: passport with an expiry date at least 3 months after the day you plan to leave. Dated 14 August 2026 in the gov.uk data; recheck before travel.

    Source: gov.uk

  • Document

    Identity check

    Regulation 866/2004, consolidated text of 31 August 2015: all persons undergo at least one check to establish their identity. Later amendments were not checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Document

    TRNC-side registration, 2015

    TRNC Public Information Office, item of 18 May 2015 (Turkish): visa slips and stamps are no longer used; the person shows ID and is registered. Not verified as current.

    Source: pio.mfa.gov.ct.tr

1 / 3

Crossing-point directory: names as the sources print them. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Crossing-point directory: names as the sources print them

The cards below list crossing points by the names that sources print. This is not a complete or current list, and it is not a statement that any point is open. Every card carries the status "not independently checked". We give no opening hours and no coordinates, and we give a vehicle or pedestrian designation only where a source states one: Ledra Palace and Ledra Street, pedestrians only, per the Republic of Cyprus Customs page, the FCDO and Canada.

How the lists differ. Annex I of the consolidated Regulation (31 August 2015) lists Ledra Palace, Ledra Street, Lefka-Apliki, Deryneia, Agios Dhometios, Astromeritis-Zodhia, Kato Pyrgos-Karavostasi, Kato Pyrgos-Kokkina and Kokkina-Pachyammos. The Customs page of 25 November 2021 lists Ledra Palace, Ledra Street, Agios Dhometios, Pergamos, Strovilia, Astromeritis-Zodhia, Kato Pyrgos-Karavostasi, Lefka-Apliki Kato and Deryneia, followed by Pyrgos-Kokkina and Kokkina-Pachyammos, and says the last two were "not opened yet". Later amendments were not checked.

Name pairs. UNFICYP prints some pairs itself, for example Ayios Demetios/Metehan, Astromeritis/Zodhia, Pyrgos Limnitis/Yesilirmak and Lefka/Aplici. The TRNC Public Information Office item of 4 June 2021, about crossings reopening after the COVID closure, lists nine Turkish-side names: Ledra Palace, Beyarmudu, Akyar, Metehan, Bostancı, Lokmacı, Yeşilırmak, Derinya and Aplıç. Matching Beyarmudu to Pergamos, Akyar to Strovilia, Bostancı to Astromeritis-Zodhia and Derinya to Deryneia is our reading of the lists; no single source we read prints each of those pairs together.

Service hours that are not crossing hours. The Customs page gives weekday availability windows for veterinary, agriculture and public health inspections at crossing points. These are inspection-service windows, not opening hours of the crossings, and we do not reproduce them. The Customs page of 2021 also predates today's check, so any point may since have opened, closed or changed its rules.

  • Crossing point

    Ledra Palace

    Republic of Cyprus Customs page: "Ledra Palace (for pedestrians only)". The FCDO and Canada also say pedestrians only. Listed in Annex I (consolidated 31 August 2015) and, by the same name, in the TRNC Public Information Office list of 2021. Canada groups it under Nicosia. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Crossing point

    Ledra Street / Lokmacı

    Customs page: "Ledra Street (for pedestrians only)". The FCDO prints "Ledra and Lokmaci Street" and says only pedestrians can use it; Canada also says pedestrians only. Customs recounts that Regulation 601/2005 added Ledra Street and Astromeritis-Zodhia to the list. The TRNC Public Information Office 2021 list prints Lokmacı. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Crossing point

    Agios Dhometios / Agios Dometios / Metehan

    Spellings as printed: Agios Dhometios (Customs page, Annex I), Agios Dometios (FCDO), Ayios Demetios/Metehan (UNFICYP), Metehan (TRNC Public Information Office 2021). Canada lists it under Nicosia. The FCDO names it as a point where car insurance for the north can be bought. No source we read gives a vehicle or pedestrian designation for it. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Crossing point

    Pergamos / Beyarmudu

    Customs page lists Pergamos. Canada lists it under East. The TRNC Public Information Office 2021 list prints Beyarmudu; the pairing is our reading. No designation is given for vehicles or pedestrians. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Crossing point

    Strovilia / Akyar

    Customs page and Canada (East) list Strovilia. A TRNC Public Information Office item of 13 November 2018 says Akyar is known as 2.5 Mile in Famagusta and was the earlier Famagusta-area crossing. The Akyar to Strovilia pairing is our reading. No designation is given for vehicles or pedestrians. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: pio.mfa.gov.ct.tr

  • Crossing point

    Deryneia / Derinya

    Customs page, Annex I and Canada (East) print Deryneia. UNFICYP says it opened on 12 November 2018 together with Lefka/Aplici. The TRNC Public Information Office reported (Turkish, dated 13 November 2018) that Derinya opened to mutual crossing the previous day at 12:00. Customs recounts that Regulation 2015/1472 added it. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: unficyp.unmissions.org

  • Crossing point

    Astromeritis-Zodhia / Bostancı

    Customs page and Canada (West) print Astromeritis-Zodhia; UNFICYP prints Astromeritis/Zodhia. The TRNC Public Information Office 2021 list prints Bostancı; the pairing is our reading. No designation is given for vehicles or pedestrians. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Crossing point

    Lefka-Apliki / Aplıç

    Printed as Lefka-Apliki Kato (Customs page, Canada), Lefka Apliki (Annex I), Lefka/Aplici (UNFICYP, opened 12 November 2018) and Lefke Aplıç (TRNC Public Information Office, 2018 and 2021). No designation is given for vehicles or pedestrians. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: unficyp.unmissions.org

  • Crossing point

    Kato Pyrgos-Karavostasi / Pyrgos Limnitis / Yeşilırmak

    Customs page and Canada (West) print Kato Pyrgos-Karavostasi; UNFICYP prints Pyrgos Limnitis/Yesilirmak; the TRNC Public Information Office 2021 list prints Yeşilırmak. Matching them is our reading. No designation is given for vehicles or pedestrians. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Crossing point

    Kato Pyrgos-Kokkina and Kokkina-Pachyammos

    Listed in Annex I (consolidated 31 August 2015). The Customs page, last updated 25 November 2021, says its last two listed points were "not opened yet". We did not find a later source on them. Status: not independently checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

1 / 10

Walking from central Nicosia. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Walking from central Nicosia

UNFICYP says the crossings opened since April 2003 include three in Nicosia, at Ayios Demetios/Metehan, Ledra Palace and Ledra Street. Canada lists the same three under Nicosia as Agios Dhometios, Ledra Palace (for pedestrians only) and Ledra Street (for pedestrians only).

The FCDO says only pedestrians can use Ledra Palace and Ledra/Lokmaci Street, and that any crossing point can be used to move between north and south. The Republic of Cyprus Customs page also marks both as for pedestrians only. These sources do not say who may cross on foot; that still depends on nationality, status and route of arrival, as set out below.

Not found in the sources checked, and therefore not stated: walking routes and distances, step-free access, queue times, opening hours, and what each side asks of pedestrians on a given day. We did not verify the accessible route at either point. If you rely on a wheelchair, a pushchair or a mobility aid, ask the authorities before travelling.

  • Source

    UNFICYP: three crossings in Nicosia

    UNFICYP page dated 22 November 2025. Names Ayios Demetios/Metehan, Ledra Palace and Ledra Street among crossings opened since April 2003.

    Source: unficyp.unmissions.org

  • Source

    FCDO: pedestrians only

    Entry requirements page, dated 14 August 2026 in the gov.uk data: only pedestrians can use Ledra Palace and Ledra/Lokmaci Street.

    Source: gov.uk

1 / 2

Driving, rental cars and insurance. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Driving, rental cars and insurance

The FCDO warns that cars hired in the Republic of Cyprus often have no insurance cover in the north of the island, and says a vehicle will not be allowed through a crossing without the correct insurance documents. It adds that at some crossing points it is possible to buy car insurance for the north, and it names Agios Dometios. We do not assume that any policy, rental or personal, transfers from one side to the other; read the policy wording and ask the insurer or rental company in writing.

Vehicles from the north. The FCDO guidance for UK nationals living in Cyprus (dated 5 February 2026) says a vehicle cannot be imported through the northern part of Cyprus and the authorities may seize it. The Republic of Cyprus Customs page says form CP 5, which allows goods including means of transport to stay for up to six months, is issued only for vehicles with foreign registration numbers, and that no CP 5 is issued for vehicles with TRNC registration plates. Goods not returned by the CP 5 expiry are, per that page, subject to confiscation.

Other statements. The FCDO says rental companies often ask for your passport as a deposit and that this is illegal. The Customs page applies the EUR 260 allowance conditions to fuel carried across and says a fuel container that does not comply is seized. We left out a 2018 second-hand press report of a per-litre fine, because the Customs page does not state it.

What the sources do not say. We found no statement in the sources about written permission from a rental agency, about ownership papers needed at a crossing, or about whether a licence from one side is accepted on the other. Those are questions for the rental company, the insurer and the authorities. For TRNC licence rules see driving licence in North Cyprus, and for dealers and registration see vehicle and boat dealers; neither is a statement about what the Republic of Cyprus accepts.

  • Document

    Insurance documents

    FCDO safety and security page, dated 14 August 2026 in the gov.uk data: hire cars from the Republic of Cyprus often lack cover in the north; no passage without correct insurance documents. Recheck before travel.

    Source: gov.uk

  • Document

    Form CP 5

    Republic of Cyprus Customs page (last updated 25 November 2021): temporary introduction up to six months, foreign-registered vehicles only. Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Document

    Importing a vehicle

    FCDO, living in Cyprus (5 February 2026): a vehicle cannot be imported through the northern part and may be seized.

    Source: gov.uk

1 / 3

Passports and status: what the sources say and where they are silent. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Passports and status: what the sources say and where they are silent

This page does not tell any person whether they may cross. Each group below lists what we found and what we did not. The Republic of Cyprus side applies its own rules to people crossing south; do not equate TRNC information with Republic of Cyprus immigration policy.

British nationals. The FCDO says British citizens can travel to Cyprus without a visa for up to 90 days, that the Republic of Cyprus counts time spent in the north towards the 90-day total, and that overstaying can mean a stop-list entry and refused entry for up to 5 years. It advises UK residents of Cyprus to carry residency documents issued by the Republic of Cyprus, and notes that Cyprus is outside Schengen, so visits to Cyprus and Schengen states do not count towards each other's 90-day limits.

Other non-EU nationals. Regulation 866/2004 (consolidated 31 August 2015) allows third-country nationals to cross only if they hold a residence permit issued by the Republic of Cyprus or a valid travel document with a visa if one is required, and are not a threat to public policy or security. Canada says no tourist or business visa is needed for stays up to 90 days and that a student visa is required. For other nationalities we checked no source; ask the Republic of Cyprus authorities or your own government.

  • Document

    Third-country nationals

    Regulation 866/2004, consolidated text of 31 August 2015: residence permit issued by the Republic of Cyprus or a valid travel document (and visa if required), and no threat to public policy or security. Later amendments not checked.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Document

    British visitors, 90 days

    FCDO entry requirements, dated 14 August 2026 in the gov.uk data: up to 90 days without a visa; time in the north counts towards the total. Recheck before travel.

    Source: gov.uk

1 / 2

Customs and goods: only the figures the sources print. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Customs and goods: only the figures the sources print

The Republic of Cyprus Customs page, last updated 25 November 2021, and the consolidated Regulation text of 31 August 2015 are the sources for the figures below. They are older than today's check, and we did not confirm that they are current, so recheck every figure before travel. The FCDO says there are controls on quantities and types of goods bought in the north and taken across, that goods can be confiscated at the checkpoint and that you could be fined. Canada advises confirming the rules before crossing.

Personal goods. Both the Regulation (Article 6) and the Customs page give an exemption for non-commercial goods in personal luggage up to a total value of EUR 260 per person, and quantitative limits of 40 cigarettes and 1 litre of spirits for personal consumption. The exemption for cigarettes and spirits is not granted to persons under 17. The FCDO says the Republic of Cyprus enforces a 40-cigarette per person limit. The Customs page says moving fine-cut or other smoking tobacco from the north is prohibited and that counterfeit and pirated goods, even one piece, are prohibited.

Food, plants and medicines. The Customs page allows fresh fruit and vegetables up to a maximum of 3 kg or 3 bundles, plus 1 bouquet of cut flowers, for personal use. It allows small quantities of certain processed foods of non-animal origin for personal consumption, including olive oil, halva, jams and coffee, and says plants for planting and cuttings are not allowed. It allows medicines for personal use in a reasonable quantity for up to one month of treatment, with a declaration on Form C.P. 4. The Commission records a Decision allowing PDO Halloumi/Hellim from the Turkish Cypriot community to be traded across the line, subject to EU animal health and food safety conditions.

Pets. The Customs page states that the prohibition on moving live animals across the line includes pets accompanied by their owner. Regulation 866/2004 (Article 4) prohibits movement across the line of live animals and animal products subject to EU veterinary requirements unless lifted by Commission decision. This is the Republic of Cyprus Customs reading as printed in 2021; we did not find a later page. For the TRNC side see pets, vets and bringing animals. The FCDO also says meat, milk and products containing them cannot be taken into EU countries, a general entry note and not specific to the Green Line.

Commercial goods and anything not listed here: not covered, because we found no figure in the verified sources and do not invent allowances. Fuel carried across follows the same EUR 260 conditions per the Customs page. Cash limits, duty on other goods and the allowance for children other than the under-17 point are not stated here because we did not verify them.

  • Customs

    EUR 260 per person

    Non-commercial goods in personal luggage. Regulation 866/2004 Article 6 (consolidated 31 August 2015) and the Customs page (25 November 2021). Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    40 cigarettes, 1 litre of spirits

    Personal consumption; not granted to persons under 17. Customs page (25 November 2021); the FCDO confirms enforcement of 40 cigarettes. Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    Fresh fruit and vegetables

    Maximum of 3 kg or 3 bundles, plus 1 bouquet of cut flowers, for personal use. Customs page (25 November 2021). Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    Medicines

    Personal use, reasonable quantity, up to one month of treatment, with a declaration on Form C.P. 4. Customs page (25 November 2021). Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    Processed food of non-animal origin

    Small quantities for personal consumption, including olive oil, halva, jams and coffee. Customs page (25 November 2021); the page has the full list. Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    Not allowed: plants, tobacco, counterfeit goods, cement

    Plants for planting and cuttings; fine-cut and other smoking tobacco; counterfeit and pirated goods, even one piece; cement. Customs page (25 November 2021). Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    Pets

    Customs page (25 November 2021): the prohibition on moving live animals across the line includes pets accompanied by their owner. Republic of Cyprus Customs wording; attributed, not NORTHEA advice. Recheck before travel.

    Source: mof.gov.cy

  • Customs

    FCDO on enforcement

    Controls on quantities and types of goods bought in the north; goods can be confiscated at the checkpoint and a fine imposed. Dated 14 August 2026 in the gov.uk data. Recheck before travel.

    Source: gov.uk

1 / 8

Accessibility, mobile, currency, holidays and the buffer zone. AI visual concept
AI visual concept

Accessibility, mobile, currency, holidays and the buffer zone

Not checked: the accessibility of each crossing, mobile roaming between the two sides, which currencies each side takes at the crossing, and public holidays that affect crossing or customs services. We found no verified source for them, so we say nothing about them. For daily-life basics on the TRNC side see practical information.

The buffer zone. UNFICYP says its troops supervise the de facto ceasefire lines established in 1974 and maintain control over the buffer zone, that civil use areas may be entered freely, and that elsewhere in the buffer zone civilian movement or activity requires specific authorization from UNFICYP. Canada says crossing in both directions is only allowed at designated crossing points, that certain areas are mined, and that there is a military presence on both sides.

  • Source

    UNFICYP: the buffer zone

    UNFICYP page dated 22 November 2025: civil use areas, authorization elsewhere, and the areas the UN does not control.

    Source: unficyp.unmissions.org

  • Source

    Canada: designated crossings and mines

    Government of Canada, dated 11 August 2026: crossing only at designated points; certain areas mined.

    Source: travel.gc.ca

1 / 2

Practical notes

  • Method: each statement is tied to a named source opened on 31 October 2026. Wording of the Republic of Cyprus, the TRNC, the UK and Canada is attributed to each of them and is not adopted by NORTHEA. Page dates are those the sources show; the gov.uk dates are from the gov.uk data and the FCDO pages may have been updated since.
  • NORTHEA does not issue legal opinions; we coordinate independent legal review and assemble due diligence dossiers.
  • Legal review: checked by a lawyer registered with the KKTC Bar.
  • Border rules and eligibility change; this page is not immigration advice and does not state whether any person may cross; check official advice before travel.
  • TRNC information is not Republic of Cyprus immigration policy and is not treated as such here. No source used here states that a TRNC residence document is a Republic of Cyprus residence authorization.
  • Corrections: write to NORTHEA via the contact page.
  • Left out for lack of a verified source: opening hours, coordinates, a complete or current crossing list, accessibility of crossings, mobile roaming, currency and public holiday rules, document rules for children and dual nationals, and the Republic of Cyprus rules for EU citizens. A 2018 second-hand report of a per-litre fuel fine was also left out. The Customs page (2021) and the consolidated Regulation (2015) are older than this check; later amendments were not read.
  • Cypriot Turkish phrases are not repeated here; see Turkish Cypriots: people, history and language. The related NORTHEA pages on how to get to North Cyprus and government, districts and crossings cover arrival and the TRNC side.

Frequently asked questions

Can I cross from North to South Cyprus?

It depends on nationality, status, documents and how you arrived, and this page cannot say for any person. The FCDO says any crossing point can be used to move between north and south. The Regulation requires third-country nationals to hold a Republic of Cyprus residence permit or a valid travel document, with a visa if required. Check official advice before travel.

Can tourists cross at Ledra Street?

The Republic of Cyprus Customs page, the FCDO and Canada say Ledra Street is for pedestrians only, so it is open to people on foot rather than in vehicles. None of these lines says that a given tourist may cross; that still depends on status, documents and route of arrival. We did not verify opening hours.

Can I drive a rental car across?

The FCDO warns that cars hired in the Republic of Cyprus often have no insurance cover in the north and that a vehicle will not be allowed through a crossing without the correct insurance documents. We found no source on permission from rental companies, so ask the company in writing and do not assume a policy transfers.

Do I need a visa?

The FCDO says British citizens can travel to Cyprus without a visa for up to 90 days and that time in the north counts towards the total; Canada says no tourist or business visa is needed for stays up to 90 days. For other nationalities we checked no source. Regulation 866/2004 refers to a visa where one is required.

Can I cross with children?

We found no official page that sets document rules for children crossing, so we state none. The sources say only that the cigarette and spirits allowance is not granted to persons under 17, that authorities in the north do not act on British court orders about children, and, for Canada, that the Hague Convention on child abduction is relevant. Take legal advice for family cases.

Are the crossings open 24 hours?

We do not say. We did not verify opening hours from a current official source, and the inspection-service windows on the Customs page are not crossing hours. Confirm hours for the specific point and day before you travel.

Is the Green Line a border?

The Commission describes it as the ceasefire line separating the two parts of the island since 1974 and says it is not an external border of the EU. The Customs page calls it the ceasefire line first drawn in 1964. Whether to call it a border is itself a matter on which the parties differ.

Can I bring purchases back?

Within limits the Customs page and the Regulation print: non-commercial goods up to EUR 260 per person, 40 cigarettes and 1 litre of spirits (not for persons under 17), and prohibitions on items such as smoking tobacco, counterfeit goods and plants for planting. Those sources are dated 2021 and 2015, so recheck every figure before travel.

Sources

Questions about North Cyprus?

Write to NORTHEA for a private conversation about areas, hotels or property.

Contact NORTHEA