About North Cyprus · Schools
Schools, nurseries and admissions in North Cyprus
As of 28 October 2026, the TRNC Public Information Office states that formal education is compulsory until the age of 15 and can be followed in public or private schools supervised by the Ministry of National Education. The Ministry lists 16 private institutions under its Primary Education Directorate and 12 under its General Secondary Education Directorate. Each school's own site states its curriculum, and only some name IGCSE, A-Level or IB. This page sets out how schooling is organised, what official sources say about foreign children, and what to ask before enrolling. Universities have their own page.
Checked 28 October 2026 against the sources named in the text and listed below. Positions of parties are attributed to them.

How schooling is organised
According to the TRNC Public Information Office, formal education begins with pre-school and includes primary, secondary, higher and special education, and it is compulsory until the age of 15. Families can continue in public or private schools, both under the supervision of the TRNC Ministry of National Education.
The Ministry's page on the general structure of the system describes primary education as 1 or 2 years of pre-school classes plus a 5-year ilkokul, and secondary education as at least 6 years: a 3-year ortaokul followed by a lise. Universities and the YÖDAK list are covered on a separate page, Education and universities.
1 / 7
Nurseries and kindergartens
According to the Ministry, pre-school education covers children who have not reached primary age, and its stated aims include preparing children for primary education and helping them speak Turkish correctly. State-provided pre-school can be a class in a primary school or a separate anaokulu.
The Ministry's list of private institutions under its Primary Education Directorate includes names containing Kindergarden, Nursary School or Okul Öncesi, and it continues on a second page. The list gives names only: no ages, hours, language or fees. None of the official pages opened for this guide describes licensing for day-care of children under 4, so ask any nursery directly which Ministry list it appears on.
1 / 6
Public and private schools
The Public Information Office says families can follow formal education in public or private schools under the Ministry's supervision. The Ministry publishes separate lists: state general secondary schools (34 entries over 3 pages), state vocational and technical schools (12 entries), and private schools under its Primary Education Directorate (16 entries) and General Secondary Education Directorate (12 entries).
The Ministry list pages opened for this guide give names and, for some private schools, a website; they do not state fees, language of instruction, curriculum or rules for foreign pupils. The Ministry's state primary list sits on a separate subsite (iod.mebnet.net) that could not be opened with a valid certificate, so no state primary school is described here.
1 / 6
Language and curricula as each school states them
On language, the Ministry lists among the aims of pre-school education helping children speak Turkish correctly. Private schools describe their own language and examination programmes on their own sites. The cards below record what each named site said when checked on 28 October 2026; they are examples, not a complete list, and they say nothing about any school not named.
A curriculum or exam board stated by one school does not carry over to another school, including one in the same town or group. Ask for the curriculum, exam board and language of teaching in writing for the specific year group.
1 / 8
Foreign children and enrolment
According to the Public Information Office's page on life in the TRNC for foreigners, foreigners with work and residence permits have education opportunities for their children of all ages. It says students who come from overseas state or private schools can be transferred to similar state or private schools in the TRNC, and that parents should submit their work and residence permits or official duty licences.
A BRTK report from July 2024 says the Minister of National Education stated that foreign students without a Turkish proficiency certificate would not be admitted to schools from Grade 1, even if born in the TRNC, and that the requirement continues for students moving from private to public schools. The Ministry pages opened for this guide do not set out a step-by-step enrolment procedure for foreign pupils, so confirm the current rule with the Ministry or the school.
1 / 6
School names by area: a verification checklist
This is a checklist of names to verify, not a ranking and not a list of every school. It uses only how the Ministry's lists spell and label entries, and town names that appear in a school's own name. A town name in a school's name does not state its address, ages, language or whether places are available.
The Ministry's compulsory-education page says it determines the school and arranges transport in some cases, so confirm place and transport with the school or the Ministry before fixing a home address. For town boundaries, see Districts and towns map.
1 / 11
What to ask before enrolling
The Public Information Office says both public and private schools operate under Ministry supervision, so a first question is which Ministry list a private institution appears on and under which name. The official pages opened for this guide do not give fees or curricula, so the points below are for the school to answer in writing.
School sites show that steps differ: one group lists documents, another describes interviews and an admission exam. Fees are not given on this page; ask each school for current written fees, extra charges and refund terms.
1 / 8
Practical notes
- NORTHEA offers property advisory. It does not provide educational accreditation, school admissions or enrolment services, and nothing on this page states that a place is available at any school.
- The official site address for Levent Schools redirects to college.leventschools.org, which is the page used here. The site of Necat British College did not open when checked on 28 October 2026, so it is named only as the Ministry lists it and no curriculum is attributed to it.
- School-site statements are each school's own description. Their accreditation or recognition wording was not assessed. The Girne American College (GAU) pages carry a 1985-2018 copyright line, so confirm that their wording is current.
- The Ministry's state primary school list (iod.mebnet.net) could not be opened with a valid certificate. No Ministry or Public Information Office page opened for this guide sets out day-care licensing for children under 4, enrolment steps for foreign pupils, or fees.
- The July 2024 BRTK report is a news account of a ministerial statement. Rules can change, so check the current requirement with the Ministry.
- Ministry list names are shown as the Ministry spells them. This page gives no fees, ratings, rankings, catchment boundaries or travel times.
Frequently asked questions
Until what age is school compulsory in North Cyprus?
The TRNC Public Information Office states that formal education is compulsory until the age of 15, and that families can choose public or private schools supervised by the Ministry of National Education. (Source: TRNC Public Information Office, education page, 2026.)
Can foreign children attend school in North Cyprus?
The Public Information Office says foreigners with work and residence permits have education opportunities for their children of all ages and should submit those permits. A July 2024 BRTK report quotes the Minister requiring a Turkish proficiency certificate for foreign students in public schools. (Sources: Public Information Office, 2026; BRTK, 2024.)
Are there English-medium schools in North Cyprus?
Some private schools describe English teaching on their own sites. Girne American College's elementary page says all subjects are taught in English, Dr. Suat Günsel Girne Koleji says middle-school lessons other than culture lessons are in English, and Levent College's page states that English is the language of instruction (it names no exam board in its text). Other schools differ, so ask for the language of each lesson. (Sources: school sites, 2026.)
Which North Cyprus schools say they teach IGCSE or A-Level?
On their own sites, The English School of Kyrenia (GCSE and IGCSE, then A-Levels or IB), Girne American College, TED Kuzey Kıbrıs Koleji, Dr. Suat Günsel Girne Koleji and Yakın Doğu Yeniboğaziçi Koleji mention IGCSE or A-Level routes. This says nothing about other schools. (Sources: school sites, 2026.)
Is the IB available in North Cyprus?
Among the sites reviewed, The English School of Kyrenia states that its Sixth Form students (Years 12 and 13) choose between the IB Diploma Programme and A-Levels. The other school pages reviewed did not state IB, which is not proof that it is absent; ask the school. (Source: English School of Kyrenia site, 2026.)
Where can I find the Ministry's list of private schools?
The Ministry of National Education publishes private school lists on mebnet.net: 16 entries under the Primary Education Directorate and 12 under the General Secondary Education Directorate when checked. The lists give names and some websites, not fees or curricula. (Source: Ministry of National Education, mebnet.net, 2026.)
What documents might a school ask for?
It varies by school. Documents listed on Girne American College's admission page include, among others, a copy of the child's birth certificate and ID card or passport, the previous school report card or diploma, proof of residence, a health report, a signed form, 2 photos and copies of the parents' passports. The Public Information Office says permit holders should submit work and residence permits. (Sources: GAU site, 2026; Public Information Office, 2026.)
How is special education organised in North Cyprus?
The Ministry says special education covers children who need it from pre-school age up to 18 and is free during compulsory school age. The Public Information Office says state and private bodies serve individuals aged 0 to 35. Ask any school what support it offers itself. (Sources: Ministry, 2026; Public Information Office, 2026.)
Where is information on universities?
This page covers schooling only. The site's Education and universities page summarises the YÖDAK list of 23 universities and how recognition is stated by each side, with sources. (Source: YÖDAK and TRNC Public Information Office, 2026, as summarised there.)
Sources
- TRNC Public Information Office: Education
- TRNC Public Information Office: Life in the TRNC for foreigners
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: Home page
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: General structure of the education system
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: Compulsory education
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: Private schools, Primary Education Directorate (page 1)
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: Private schools, Primary Education Directorate (page 2)
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: Private schools, General Secondary Education Directorate
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: State general secondary schools (page 1)
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: State general secondary schools (page 2)
- TRNC Ministry of National Education: Vocational and technical schools
- BRTK: Turkish certification mandatory for foreign students (July 2024)
- The English School of Kyrenia: Key information
- GAU Group of Schools: Home page
- GAU Group of Schools: Curriculum (American College)
- GAU Group of Schools: Curriculum (International American Elementary School)
- GAU Group of Schools: Admission process
- TED Kuzey Kıbrıs Koleji: Programmes that make a difference
- TED Kuzey Kıbrıs Koleji: Registration conditions
- Dr. Suat Günsel Girne Koleji: Academic practices
- Yakın Doğu Yeniboğaziçi Koleji: Academic practices
- Near East College: Home page
- Levent College: English education
Questions about North Cyprus?
Write to NORTHEA for a private conversation about areas, hotels or property.